Sa Sa International Holdings Ltd. (00178.HK) said interim net profit for the six months ending September will exceed HK$150 million, roughly triple the HK$50.2 million booked a year earlier, on double-digit growth in Hong Kong and Macau store productivity.
The Hong Kong cosmetics retailer, known in Chinese as 莎莎國際控股有限公司, filed the positive profit alert with the Hong Kong stock exchange on Sept. 21. It attributed the gain to year-on-year increases in same-store sales, transaction volume, average transaction value and items per transaction across its two core markets, plus rapid growth in B2C online sales and profitability.
Same-store sales are the load-bearing number in the alert. The metric strips out revenue added by new openings, so growth in it points to higher footfall and larger baskets at stores Sa Sa already operates rather than to network expansion. The company did not disclose the percentage growth rates for any of the four operating metrics, and the figures remain unaudited pending the formal interim results.
The Hong Kong retail backdrop supports the direction of travel. Total retail sales for January to October reached HK$311.7 billion, narrowing the year-on-year decline to 0.2%, with medicines and cosmetics among the categories posting moderate growth, according to Cushman & Wakefield's Hong Kong Property Markets 2025 Review. The average high street vacancy rate fell to 6.6% in the fourth quarter, the lowest since the pandemic, and the broker forecasts high street rents rising 2% to 3% in the first half of 2026.
Peer data corroborates the cosmetics channel specifically. DFI Retail Group, which operates Mannings in Hong Kong and Macau, reported a 5% like-for-like sales increase in those two markets for 2025, driven by tourist store sales, with Health and Beauty division sales up 7% to US$2.6 billion and underlying operating profit up 8% to US$228 million. Tourist arrivals into Hong Kong rose 12% over the same period, DFI said in its preliminary results published March 3.
Sa Sa's online arm is the second engine. The alert cites improved operational effectiveness on digital platforms, a shift from the revenue-at-any-cost approach that has weighed on margins across Asian beauty e-commerce. The company has not disclosed the online segment's revenue contribution or margin, leaving investors to gauge scale at the interim results.
The alert also reflects a smaller drag from the mainland. Sa Sa closed its offline store network in China and has pivoted to cross-border e-commerce, a retrenchment that narrowed related losses. The company's last declared final dividend was HK$0.0340 per share with a special dividend of HK$0.0190, both announced June 25, following an interim dividend of HK$0.0115 declared Nov. 20, 2025.
Short selling in the stock stood at HK$226,540, or 2.796% of turnover, as of Sept. 21, a modest reading that suggests limited positioning against the earnings recovery. The shares added HK$0.005, or 0.429%, on the session.
For holders, the alert is a directional signal that Hong Kong and Macau discretionary retail is converting higher visitor traffic into profit rather than just sales, and that the online business has crossed into contributing earnings. The confirmation test comes with the audited interim results for the six months ended September, where the company will need to disclose the actual same-store sales growth rate and any interim dividend decision. Sa Sa's small market capitalisation means the read-across to larger Hong Kong retail names is sentiment-driven rather than fundamental.
This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice.